Arashi Around Asia (2008)

aaa-01aaa-02

Arashi Around Asia 2008 marks the second AAA tour, and the first time for Arashi to perform at Kokuritsu Kyogijo Stadium. The year was also marks the first of their five-dome tours, which I think we’re so used to now that we take it for granted. At least, I think that’s the case for me. At this point, Arashi was becoming “stable”, and fans were beginning to expect these things from them. But 2008 was the beginning.

The DVD comes with a short documentary of Arashi preparing for their first concert in Kokuritsu, and recording their song “Re(mark)able” – Ohno saying the song was too fast, Aiba not hitting his high notes, Nino finishing his recording quickly, all while sitting down and shuffling his playing cards.

aaa-04aaa-05

The AAA in Dome concert is actually one I used to watch quite often when I first became an Arashian; a lot of my favourite songs were in it. I loved all the solos for this concert, and “Hip-hop Boogie” is one of my favourites by Sho. It’s the first concert (in my rewatch) with “One Love”, since HanaDan Final was in 2008, after all. And “Truth” and “Kaze no Mukou e” were still new, too – Ohno still looked like his character from Maou, and the other members called him that in the documentary.

In 2008, Arashi also had their Dream-A-Live tour, but unfortunately, they never released a DVD for that.

Leave a comment